I Prayed For Parents Like Adopted Ed’s – National Adoption Month

Written

by JamericanSpice

As a child growing up in the different orphanages, I always dreamed up fantasy after fantasy of being adopted by a loving family. And love looks quite different to a child, than for an adult. I was one of the left behinds and it does still hurt so much.
I made a promise that when I grew up and have a good job and a home, I’d adopt children. I still have this passion and I pray that God will help us make this a reality.
That is why it was so hard to read Adopted Ed. It’s this book about a boy name Ed who was adopted and it’s a beautiful story, but I just about can’t stand reading it without bawling my eyes out.
So anyways Ed was given up for adoption to parents who loved and nurtured him as their own. As he grew up and went off to school, some kids who were bullies began to tease him and made him feel as if being adopted was something to be ashamed about.
Ed told his parents and his mother told him to respond to the bullies by saying: “My parents chose me, yours were stuck with you!”
She also told Ed that adoption was a great act of love and a gift of the heavens.
Ed was very proud and grew strong, but as he got older, more questions came that so naturally do to children who want to know where they come from and information about their birth parents.
Ed’s parents nervously answered his questions and told him his story.
Ed who just wanted to know, was satisfied and happy to have his parents understand his need to know without being angry or hurt.
It is such a beautiful story and also a great encouragement to children who are adopted, so they can know they are very special and there is nothing at all wrong with them or their lives.
It is also a book that encourage your heart to open your family to a child who need the loving environment of parents.
The book ends; “I’m Adopted, I’m Special!”
The book also shares famous people who are adopted.
Faith Hill, Edgar Allen Poe, Richard Burton, Marilyn Monroe, Alexander The Great, Nelson Mandela, Moses, Aristotle, Jesse Jackson, Crazy Horse, Tolstoy, Malcolm X and many more!
It’s a great book of understanding, acceptance and empowerment and I would encourage you to rent or purchase it, whether you are considering adoption or not. Who knows, your child might have friends who are adopted!
I’m so glad I got to share this book with you!
About the Author
Darren Maddern is just one of the many millions of adopted people throughout the world today.
Born in England, Darren was adopted when he was only 10 days old by Don and Dolly Maddern, an American military couple who were stationed at an American Air Force base just outside of Oxford.
After spending three years in England, the Madderns were transferred to Tehran, Iran where they settled for the next five years and where Darren attended first and second grades. When Darren completed second grade, the Madderns were transferred again, this time to Fayetteville, North Carolina. Shortly after arriving in North Carolina, Darren was naturalized as an American citizen. Three years later, the Madderns moved one last time to Colorado, where Darren spent the rest of his formative years.
ADOPTED ED is dedicated to both his adopted and biological parents with a special dedication to his mom, Dolly Maddern who passed away in 2000 and his pops, Don Maddern who joined her in 2009. It’s also dedicated to every adopted man, woman and child to remind them that they too are indeed – SPECIAL.
About JamericanSpice

I'm Callie..I love to dance! I love the rain and greenery and want to do many things that I'll probably not get the opportunity to do. My illusions of happiness are out the door and I understand that true joy comes only from God.

Leave a Reply

